Activity 2: Review the RRI, HRI and HRA Tools

The Rural Resilience Index (RRI), Hazard Resilience Index (HRI) and the Hazard Risk Assessment (HRA) are the major tools that will be used to assess your community’s disaster resilience, and will provide key information for creating a Resilience Plan.

You are not expected to complete the tools at this point. Rather, your goal is to review them and become familiar with how they are constructed and what the different categories and hazards are. You will use these tools in later steps to assess your community. Click the buttons below to access the tools.

Rural Resilience Index (RRI)   
Hazard Resilience Index (HRI)
Hazard Risk Analysis (HRA)    

Reviewing the RRI, the HRA and the relevant parts of the HRI (those hazards that are relevant in the local context) will give the team a detailed understanding of what disaster resilience means and help the team answer community members’ questions as information is collected.

In this process you will encounter resilience factors that are very clearly related to disaster preparedness, such as knowing what the threats to a community’s safety are (hazards) and what plans are in place to respond to those threats (disaster management plans). In addition however, the RRI includes many characteristics related to the well-being of the community. These include such things as the employment and economic health of the community and region, how the community functions (governance) and the skills and knowledge available in the community. These characteristics are directly related to disaster resilience. They help describe how the community practically prepares for possible disasters, and if a disaster occurs, how effective the community is in responding to and recovering from that event.

Rural Resilience Index (RRI)

Very early in the process, the team should become familiar with the RRI which includes two major parts:

  1. Community Resource section
  2. Disaster Management section
Hazard Resilience Index (HRI)

At first glance, the HRI may seem overwhelming. The HRI lists most types of disaster hazards – natural, human caused, technological, terrorist or disease related. Your team will only be working with a small number of these. Later in the process you will select those hazards that pose the greatest threat for your community. These will become the focus of your hazard resilience assessment.

Hazard Risk Assessment (HRA)

The team should also review the Hazard Risk Assessment (HRA) tool and the Hazard Resilience Index (HRI) which detail all possible hazard types a community is likely to face.